Seafood Excellence Awards to celebrate excellence in industry

Seafood Excellence Awards

Sydney Fish Market has announced the return of its biennial Seafood Excellence Awards, showcasing the best in the NSW seafood industry with nominations now open to retailers, suppliers, restaurateurs, individuals, and businesses – locally and beyond. 

The Awards feature 11 categories recognising the industry’s top achievers for their professionalism, product quality, contribution to the economy, and commitment to supplying high quality seafood to local, national, and international markets. 

Submissions will be open from Tuesday 1 March to Thursday 31 March. The finalists in each award category will be invited to attend an invitation only cocktail event in Sydney on Wednesday 18 May where the winners will be announced. 

As well as recognition as the NSW leaders in their category, the Award winners will then be put forward as the NSW nominees for the National Seafood Awards taking place in Brisbane in September. 

“The Seafood Excellence Awards pay tribute to all aspects of the seafood industry from ocean to plate,” Sydney Fish Market CEO Greg Dyer said. “We’re proud of the individuals and organisations that work hard to ensure Australia’s global reputation as a producer of premium seafood is maintained.” 

Notable categories include the hotly contested Best Restaurant Award which sees restaurateurs compete for recognition as the state’s best seafood-centric restaurant and the Primary Producer categories, with Awards available for suppliers from NSW as well as interstate/overseas. 

The Environment Award recognises an entity that has demonstrated excellence in developing and undertaking environmental activity that has contributed substantially towards protecting or rehabilitating aquatic environments, or reducing adverse seafood industry impacts on the environment. 

One of the most anticipated moments of the Awards evening is the announcement of the Star of the Sea – a highly prestigious award presented to a person who has demonstrated that they made a substantial positive difference to the seafood industry and who has been a highly effective and respected seafood industry leader over many years. 

This year, organisations and individuals can enter the following categories: 

  • Environment Award; 
  • Primary Producer Award (NSW); 
  • Primary Producer Award (Interstate/overseas); 
  • Best Seafood Restaurant Award; 
  • Business Award; 
  • Safety Award; 
  • Research, Development & Extension Award; 
  • Promotion Award; 
  • People Development Award; 
  • Young Achiever Award; and 
  • Star of the Sea. 

For further information about the awards, nomination submissions, criteria or sponsorship enquiries, visit  


Send this to a friend